8F. Doctor Who - Invaders From Mars

  • Writer: Mark Gatiss
  • Director: Mark Gatis
  • Produced by: Jason Haigh-Ellery, Gary Russell, Jacqueline Rayner
  • Music: Alistair Lock
  • Recorded: 16th - 17th January 2001
Quote from

The TV Movie

The Doctor: Come with me.
Grace: You come with me.
The Doctor: Me come with you?
Grace: Yes.
The Doctor: Me come with you? ... It's temtping.

The Eighth Doctor and Doctor Grace Holloway.

Invaders From Mars

Hallowe'en 1938.

A year after a mysterious meteorite lit up the skies of New York state, Martian invaders laid waste to the nation. At least, according to soon-to-be infamous Orson Welles they did. But what if some of the panicked listeners to the legendary 'War of the Worlds' broadcast weren't just imagining things?

Attempting to deliver Charley to her rendezvous in Singapore 1930, the Doctor overshoots a little, arriving in Manhattan just in time to find a dead private detective. Indulging his gumshoe fantasies, the Doctor is soon embroiled in the hunt for a missing Russian scientist whilst Charley finds herself at the mercy of a very dubious Fifth Columnist.

With some genuinely out of this world 'merchandise' at stake, the TARDIS crew are forced into an alliance with a sultry dame called Glory Bee, Orson Welles himself and a mobster with half a nose known as 'The Phantom'.

And slowly but surely, something is drawing plans against them. Just not very good ones...

Regular Cast

  • Charley Pollard: India Fisher


  • Mouse: Ian Hallard (1)
  • Ellis: Mark Benton
  • John Houseman: Jonathan Rigby
  • Orson Welles: David Benson
  • Bix Biro: Paul Putner
  • Don Chaney: Simon Pegg
  • Glory Bee: Jessica Stephenson (1-3)
  • Cosmo Devine: John Arthur


  • CD 1: Parts One and Two
  • CD 2: Parts Three and Four
  • Running Time: 100 minutes