XX. Doctor Who - The Seeds Of Death

Season Six

  • Script Editor: Terrance Dicks
  • Writer: Brian Hayles
  • Produced by: Peter Bryant
  • Director: Michael Ferguson
  • Designer: Paul Allen
  • Incidental Music: Dudley Simpson

XX. Doctor Who - The Seeds Of Death

The TARDIS materialises on Earth in the 21st century inside a private space museum. A monitor shows that all travel on the planet is now done using the T-mat system providing instant trans-mat from point to point, including the moon.

The base on the moon appears to be non-functional, but the truth is that it has been invaded by the Ice Warriors. The Doctor, along with Jamie and Zoe, assist a London T-mat station by travelling up to the moon in an antiquated rocket - they are the only people with the necessary experience.

The Doctor finds that the Ice Warriors have taken over the moon base. Using the T-mat system they transport seed pods to Earth. The pods produce a strange foam that is able to suck the oxygen out of the Earth atmosphere.

The only way to disperse the pods is by water. An Ice Warrior transports to a weather station and locks the controls so that rain is not produced. The Doctor is able to rewire the controls and produce rain, dispersing the foam. Using a satellite he is able to draw the Ice Warrior fleet into orbit around the sun. The heat destroys them.

Regular Cast

  • Jamie McCrimmon: Frazer Hines
  • Zoe Heriot: Wendy Padbury


  • Gia Kelly: Louise Pajo
  • Commander Julian Radnor: Ronald Leigh-Hunt
  • Professor Daniel Eldred: Philip Ray
  • Computer Voice: John Witty
  • Slaar: Alan Bennion
  • Ice Warriors: Sonny Caldinez (2-4), Tony Harwood (2-6), Steve Peters
  • Fewsham: Terry Sculler (1-5)
  • Phipps: Christopher Coll (1-4)
  • Brent: Ric Felgate (1-4)
  • Locke: Martin Cort (1-2)
  • Harry Osgood: Harry Towb (1)
  • Grand Marshall: Graham Leaman (5-6)
  • Sir James Gregson: Hugh Morton (5)
  • Weather Station Operator: Peter Whitaker (4)
  • Double for the Doctor: Tommy Laird (4)
  • Technicians: Monique Bryant, Derek Chafer, Alan Cuntz, Ernie Claydon, Edward Cogdell, Ron Conrad, Royston Farrell, Pat Gorman, Jimmy Haswell, Eric Kent, Crawford Lyle
  • Guards: John Crease, Fred Clemson, Keith Goodman, Tony Hutchins, Phil Lundgren, Douglas Roe, Peter Roy, Derrick Slater

Showings on the BBC

First showing

Channel Episode Title Date Viewers Rating
BBC 1 232 Episode 1 Saturday, January 25, 1969 5:15 PM - 5:40 PM 6.6M 57%
BBC 1 233 Episode 2 Saturday, February 1, 1969 5:15 PM - 5:40 PM 6.8M 59%
BBC 1 234 Episode 3 Saturday, February 8, 1969 5:15 PM - 5:40 PM 7.5M 55%
BBC 1 235 Episode 4 Saturday, February 15, 1969 5:15 PM - 5:40 PM 7.1M 55%
BBC 1 236 Episode 5 Sunday, February 23, 1969 5:15 PM - 5:40 PM 7.6M 57%
BBC 1 237 Episode 6 Saturday, March 1, 1969 5:15 PM - 5:40 PM 7.7M 59%


Outside Locations

  • Hampstead Heath, London


  • Ealing Television Film Studios
  • Lime Grove Studio D



No blooper details are available


  • The story title, writer and episode number is brought up over model work of the Earth and Moon which varies from episode to episode.
  • Patrick Troughton is absent from Episode 4 (a double plays the unconscious Doctor).

Working titles

  • The Lords Of The Red Planet